Page title


Football players celebrating after a win at a World Cup match

FIFA this morning confirmed its 64-match schedule for the 2023 Women's World Cup, which will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Perth will be one of nine host cities across the two nations, with games to be held at Perth's rectangular stadium on the following dates:

  • July 22 — Group Stage (D)
  • July 26 — Group Stage (B)
  • July 29 — Group Stage (F)
  • August 1 — Group Stage (D)
  • August 3 — Group Stage (H) 

The 5 group stage fixtures in Perth will be played between 9 different teams, which will also use other local facilities to train and prepare. One team will play multiple matches at Perth's rectangular stadium and will have a base camp in Perth.

The pairings and kick-off times for each fixture will be available after the draw, which will be confirmed by FIFA at the end of 2022.

It is anticipated the tournament will deliver millions of dollars of economic benefits to Western Australia, attracting tourists to Western Australia and showcasing the State on television screens around the world.

A range of upgrades to Perth's rectangular stadium is now underway so the facility meets FIFA requirements for the upcoming World Cup, as well as providing benefits for future events.

The $35 million upgrade to the historic venue includes:

  • replacing the halogen lights with a shift to modern LED lighting
  • upgrading the pitch through removal, levelling and turf replacement
  • new player races and bench areas
  • upgrades to the existing power supply, including a new switch room. 

The funding will also cover temporary infrastructure such as additional seating and facilities for players, media and patrons to cater for the World Cup.


Page reviewed 06 May 2022