Page title


3 people standing outside of Parliament holding books.

Photo: Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman with Catherine Clark and Sharon Flindell CEO of Writing WA

The category celebrates books published or self-published in the calendar year of 2022. Open to Western Australian resident writers of any style or genre, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, history or young adult. The new category is sponsored by Writing WA, the peak body for writers in WA and broadens the scope of the awards, allowing more Western Australian writers to be honoured.

The awards are managed by the State Library of Western Australia and prizes will be awarded in the following categories:

  • The Premier's Prize for Book of the Year, sponsored by Writing WA ($15,000)
  • The Premier's Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)
  • The Premier's Prize for Children's Book of the Year ($15,000)
  • The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and Young Adult Fiction ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)
  • The Western Australian Writer's Fellowship ($60,000).

The Daisy Utemorrah Award is administered and funded by Broome-based Indigenous publisher Magabala Books with support from the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries. Entries for all categories will open on 8 December 2022 and close on 19 January 2023. Winners will be announced at the State Library in June 2023.

For more information about the WA Premier's Book Awards, and how to enter, visit the State Library's website.

State Library of Western Australia


Page reviewed 27 February 2023